1830s BLACKSMITH /
1907 THE BUFFS DRILL HALL
Hawley Square, Margate
This Grade II listed building has had a more varied past than most of our projects, and we've worked for two separate owners, each with a different aim and scope.
Our first client bought the building at auction from the Local Authority, who had been using it as their Parking & CCTV Monitoring Station for over twenty years, following decades as general council offices. It was in a very poor state, riddled with asbestos, surface-mounted plastic trunking, and chipboard cabinets. It was hard to imagine a fascinating old building lay beneath the gloss magnolia wood-chip wallpaper, fluorescent lights and thin brown carpet.
Our research uncovered a rich history to the building, likely constructed around 1830 as a blacksmith on the ground floor with residential accommodation above, and then a variety of light industrial and commercial uses. In 1907 the building was converted for use by the 4th Battalion The Buffs, East Kent Regiment, and an Officer's home above. A huge Drill Hall was constructed on the rear, and later removed to build a multi-storey car park in the 1970s.
In our first phase of work we stripped out the 1970s finishes back to the 1830s/1907 materials, layering in new services and facilities to create a comfortable 3-bed historic home with refurbished 1970s workshop on the back, and new garden terrace over, ideally suited to a live-work creative practitioner.
Our second phase of work, for the new owner, a graffiti art print producer and dealer, is to add a fourth bedroom on top of the thermally-upgraded 1970s rear extension, and reinstate more of the missing architectural details, such as the 1907 Buffs' flagpole and 1830s blacksmith's balcony along the first floor front facade.
Developer: All Creative Ltd.
Contractor: Newbery Renovations Ltd.
Structural Engineer: HF-K Ltd.
Client: Graffiti Prints.
Structural Engineer: Alan Baxter Partnership.
Photography by inigo.com
and Studio Sam Causer